February 10, 2022

The Alaska Association of Chief of Police is proud to announce the nominations for the annual Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. Please see the following criterion for each of these nominations:

AACOP Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

The Alaska Association Police of Chief of Police is again asking for nominations for the Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award to recognize individuals who have demonstrated exceptional achievement and shown a genuine commitment to their profession, their agency, and the public they serve.


ELIGIBILITY: All sworn, full-time Police Officers / Troopers / Agents / Ranger / etc.… from Alaska Municipal, State, University, Tribal, Village, Airport or Railroad law enforcement agencies, BELOW the ranking individual in charge of said agency in the state. You do not need to be a member of AACOP to participate in this award.

Nominations may be made for exceptional achievement in any law enforcement endeavor, including extraordinary valor, crime prevention, investigative work, community policing, traffic safety, drug control and prevention, juvenile programs, and training programs. A “Law Enforcement Officer of the Year” will be selected from applications received from across the state.


The nomination form must be completed and submitted to AACOP@AACOP.ORG.

The complete nomination package must be uploaded at the time of submission so please have your nomination package is available before you begin completing the form.

Your nomination package should include the following and be in a Word or Adobe PDF file format:

A memorandum or cover letter from the nominator addressed to the AACOP Executive Director Jay King. The memorandum/cover letter must attest that the supporting documentation provided is accurate.

  • A narrative (with optional supporting documentation) outlining the following criteria:
  • The nominee’s service to the state of Alaska;
  • The nominee’s service to their agency;
  • The nominee’s service to their community; and
  • The nominee’s accomplishments as a law enforcement officer which warrants them being given this

All nominations should be combined to create one (1) single electronic document nomination package. The package must be in a Word or Adobe PDF file format. The total nomination package must not exceed 5 pages. Any nomination packages over five (5) pages will not be considered.

DEADLINE: The deadline for receipt of nominations is April 4, 2022, 5:00 p.m.

NOTIFICATION: Winners will be notified as soon as possible on or before April 22, 2022, after final approval by the AACOP Board of Directors.

PRESENTATION: Awards will be presented by the agency head at a time determined by each agency, and the results will be shared on the AACOP website. For ethical reasons, individual members of the AACOP review committee should not score any nominations from their current or past agencies, or any nominee whom they know personally and therefore may be influenced by that relationship.


April 4th – Deadline for nomination for consideration. Any individual nominated after this date will not
be eligible.
April 6th – Nominations are distributed to the Awards Committee.
April 19th – Awards Committee sends names to BOD for approval.
April 21st – Meeting of AACOP BOD to confirm winners.
April 22nd – Expected announcement date of winners.

If there is anything we can do to answer questions, please feel free to contact me at (907)488-6902 or email us at AACOP@AACOP.ORG.
Thank you for your time.